My Tech Journey!

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

My Tech Journey!

Spoiler: It is crazy.

·

4 min read

Well, as you are here with me, let me take you 1 year back in time using my secret tool 🤫 git checkout 2022 and lets see how I started my tech journey.

Phase I - Early 2022

I joined a college pursuing CS degree with no idea of what I was going to do with my life. I knew nothing except some basic C and handful of Python commands.

In college I made some friends who were already into programming and were next level, and I was like If they can do then why can't I . So I started improving myself in Python as I was already familiar with it and there was buzz of AI/ML/DS and all.

I messed around with Python modules here and there and in middle of that messing around I came across Tkinter module, I was like "Woah!! I can make UI in Python" and without any second thought I started learning it by watching Code With Harry and created my first few python projects which was like gold to me those days.

These are 2 of the many UIs I built in Tkinter and I was on cloud nine seeing them.

Phase II - The Switch coming in clutch

So as I was enjoying building UIs in Python, a friend of mine whom I met in Discord suggested me to try Web Development. I knew HTML which I learned when I was like 15 and no idea what CSS and JavaScript were. But, little did I know the HTML I learned at that time was outdated one, lol.

Then, did I give up and was like man... this is too much? Well, that's where most people quit. But Nah! Why not learn it Step by Step and Bit by Bit 🤠.

So I started with HTML, learned from W3Schools and build some wacky structured webpages then gave them some more wackiness by learning CSS from FreeCodeCamp. But that's the fun part "Mistakes are the best way of learning", slowly but gradually there were improvement!

My learning repo for HTML and CSS if you are interested :)

Then what next?

JavaScript.... Same strategy, spinned up some JS tutorials from FreeCodeCamp and Traversy Media, note down what I learned and build projects on them.

All_the_things_I_learned_in_JavaScript_Repo

Funfact: I am still committing codes in these repo whenever I learn a new concept based on javaScript. You never finish learning JavaScript ;)

Phase III - The Interesting Twist

So, I was having fun with JavaScript and then I came across javaScript frameworks and libraries. And like every Pokemon game I had 3 choices ReactJS, VueJS and AngularJS.

And like a good boy I went with React. As expected I had no idea what in the world was React, and started exploring it. Firstly it was like quantum physics everything went like a bouncer but with some youtube videos from FreeCodeCamp, Traversy Media and WebDevSimplified I got familiar with it and started building stuffs.

The First (Good) React Project I built which was quite exciting.

And also by that time I started being more serious on Github and started maintaining a streak which was around September 2022.

And there was HacktoberFest, and our college club organized a Hackathon 🥳. And My team and I secured first place in that 🥳🥳.

And yeah thats me in the middle, who didn't sleep for 30 hours 🙃

Final Phase - Things started working together.

I started getting very confident in React and built a lot projects in it also started working with MERN stack and built a Full Stack Application using MongoDB and ExpressJS and slowly moved to NextJS and TypeScript. Also, started contributing to open source by watching videos of Kunal Kushwaha.

A color generator website I built using React.

Website which I built for my college association called Clouds

Full Stack Expense Tracker built using MERN Stack

Conclusion

Everything comes to and end, but this journey will continue... 🔥

I am excited to explore more concepts, build my skills and improve myself. In tech you don't need to spend 1000s of rupees to learn, you just need to start at a point and things will start getting together. Also, before I end, this month I started contributing to open source and made quite a good progress and will keep on continuing it.

Also, what about the streak which i mentioned earlier... as of today

On that note, Thank you for sticking till the end. Wish you All the Best for your tech journey and hope my blog helped you with that :)

Deveesh Shetty

GitHub, Twitter, Linkedin

Â